Reflection of Self

Published March 5, 2015 by uncommonmommy

Between the needs of all three wee littles, the animals,  the house,  our stomachs, friends,  errands,  jobs, etc., it becomes very easy to feel overwhelmed, and to cut myself from the to-do list.

Really,  how much time can I spare for myself,  for my own needs,  passions and joys, without taking it from my already dwindling sleep allotment?

Then I read this quote,

Tonight, as I was getting ready for bed, I paused and looked in the mirror.  “Love Looks,” I thought, “God, I could use some Love Looks, too.” Little doses of pausing and looking at myself with compassion.   Little moments of being kind to myself, looking at myself, and seeing the holy right here within me, too.
Lisa A. McCrohan

And I realized, just like with all the big goals in life,  we only get there one step at a time.

I may not have hours to pamper myself or uninterrupted blocks of creative time, but I do have the ability to look at myself in the mirror and acknowledge a job well done, a strong woman doing her best, and that I’m an integral part of the human experience deserving of love and kindness from those around me,  but most especially from myself.

image

Leave a Reply

