Connection of Love

Published February 20, 2015 by uncommonmommy

Three years ago I embarked on a journey to love more.  I thought it would be simple.
Now, I look back and laugh at my naivete.
Not only was it incredibly difficult to just “love more,” but I found I did not, in fact, understand what it was to Love at all.
So I started trying to break down the “how-to” of Love.
Patience, Kindness, Compassion, Forgiveness, Self Acceptance, Empathy…
I couldn’t even tell you what these words meant, let alone how to live them.

It wasn’t until I started seeing the connections between myself and others, the connections all around us, the domino effect of events in my past that I began to understand.  When I really thought about it, I knew I was exactly where I needed and wanted to be in life.  There is only one way I could have gotten here.   Just as we can trace the steps back for how our morning fruit got into our hand, we may also retrace the route that brought us to where we are in our lives. 

It could not have happened any other way.  The people at the beginning are crucial to the existence of us at the end, and without us, look at all that wouldn’t be.  It is only through recognizing these connections that we might lose any notions of our self-importance and begin to cultivate gratitude for all that has happened in our lives, good or bad. 

We may not be aware of our role in the grand scheme of things, but we can be sure we have one and that it is vital to the lives of all we come into contact with.  It simply cannot happen any other way.  Every one of us has a role.  No matter what judgement you may pass on those that seem less worthy, intelligent, or authentic, they are a part of the Whole.  They have a role. 

The exquisite birth of spring could not exist without the cold death of winter.

Connection is that process of knowing our importance to the Whole, as well as comprehending that others share this importance with us.  When we do so, we are less likely to hate or fear.  We can rest, sure in the knowledge that we are all eternal threads in the grand design.

~ Judith Lasater

Growing up is after all only the understanding that one’s unique and incredible experience is what everyone shares.

~ Doris Lessing

image

2 comments on “Connection of Love

  • Thanks for sharing. I can relate to that it is often hard to know what love would do in a given moment. I’m struggling with that myself.
    Recently , mariner2mother posted something interesting about this. Her son wanted to stay home and not go to school due to a stomach ache. And she wasn’t sure what would be the most loving action. Force him gently to go to school and overcome his anxiety? Or allow him to stay home? She decided to ask for help. Her is her post:
    https://mariner2mother.wordpress.com/2015/02/12/child-wants-to-stay-home-from-school/

  • Leave a Reply

